Feng Shui:
The Science or Principle
of Harmony

Feng Shui is thousands of years old and is said to have derived from the I Ching. It has many elements of astrology and numerology in it and is concerned with the primal energies of life and how they express through or interact with our material realm or environment.

The basic principle behind Feng Shui is to maniplate your physical environment in a way that maximizes the positive flow of the universal life force rather than the negative. This is done by understanding a few basic principles such as element, color, light, shape, weight, size, and direction.

Basically, light is better than dark, round is better than straight, large is better than small, and light is better than heavy. Elements and directions are neutal and depend on your Kua number which is based on your year of birth.

For instructions on how to calculate your Kua number go here

Feng Shui Tips

Avoid having sharp, jagged, or angular objects pointing at you, as these emit negative energies. Roundness is best.

Always try facing one of your good directions according to your kua number(a compass will come in handy). Use youself as the reference point, and your nose as the pointer, no matter where you are.

For a house, use its center as a reference point. Try to have your bedroom in a compatible corner of the house and your bed in a compatible corner in your room. Never have your bed facing a door or window and never sleep under a beam or with your head pointing towards the bathroom(energy drainer). Never buy a house in front of a T-road.

Decorate your house with harmonious colors and beautiful objects which attract benevolent spirits. Wear harmonious colors(see pakua wheel above). Red stimulates passion and anger, blue stimulates calm and intellect, yellow is creative and playful, orange is emotional, and green is healing. White is Purity, Purple is spirituality, and Black is death or negation. No armaments or war paintings for lovers of peace. Instead try statues or paintings of cherubs and lovers. Carpets should have simple and circular designs with compatible colors. Fruits, lucky coins, ducks, turtles, and goldfish are also lucky.

Computers, TV's, and other electronic gadgets should stay out of the bedroom as these disturb your body's electro-magnetism. Keep the sharp edges of doors, shelves and blinds from slicing through you. Avoid spiral or twisting staircases which have a boring or corkscrew effect, especially if they are in the middle of the house. Never have the bathroom in the middle of the house as this completely drains its energies.

When sitting before a table, avoid the corners. Round tables are best. Don't face or have your back to a door or window, and try to face one of your better directions. Never point a pen or pencil or any sharp object, or even your finger, at anyone as this incites a negative or even violent response. Papers and books with rounded edges are best. Furniture also should have as few sharp edges as possible. Have your computer or desk facing your success direction. Curved screens are better than flat ones. Do not wear pointed or spiked shoes and get rid of that pointed umbrella.

Note: Feng Shui is not limited to your year of birth. Your month, day, and hour also have their own influences.

Feng Shui, Astrology, and Numerology

Feng Shui is a primitive form of astrology and numerology. It is based on the number 8(the number of the reptiles -four fingers and toes). Eight is also the number of Satan or Saturn in numerology. This does not mean that Feng Shui is evil. Far from it. It simply means that it is very old and deals with primal forces. It is very visual and ritualistic. Every number has its own astrology or significance.

The 8 Directions of Feng Shui correspond to the 8 cardinal points in astrology: 0 Cancer, 15 Leo, 0 Libra, 15 Scorpio, 0 Capricorn, 15 Aquarius, 0 Aries, and 15 Taurus. They also represent 8 dimensions, octaves, and intensities. The number eight itself looks like a twisted snake or dragon or a completed S and represents the power of regeneration as well as the eigth sign(Scorpio) of the zodiac. Capricorn also denotes regeneration through fasting. It is unfortunate but true that Capricorn and Scorpio, which hold the keys to regeneration, are also the two most maligned signs of the zodiac.

The primal forces of Creation seek expression through matter, and while there may once have been 8 such forces, there are now 12. In Astrology there are 12 directions(sign energies) instead of 8, each occupying a 30 degree span of a circle or sphere. It is possible to formulate a modernized version of Feng Shui based on today's astrology. Sunrise point or the eastern horizon would become your ascending degree and sunset or its opposite point becomes your descendant. High noon(South) is your Midheaven, and your North point becomes your IC. All other points are tri-sected. You become the center or reference point and any direction you face would influence you according to natal and transiting planets.

You could then divide your room, home, city, country, etc, into twelve slices or sections using a central point(yourself or the center of the room, etc.). This has astounding implications which should be seriously researched by all astrologers. It would reveal the intimate electro-magnetic(astrological) connection between one's self and one's environment.

The square(90 degree) and perhaps the quincunx(150 degree) aspects in astrology correspond to the negative influences in Feng Shui given off by sharp or angular objects. A totally square house, for example, would be conflict-ridden, whereas a rectangular one would be less so because of the sextile/trine aspect configuration(draw a circle around it). Of course, a round house would be perfectly balanced, incorporating ALL of the aspects, and that is why planets(and igloos) are built round, or as spheres. An angle or corner means an abrupt stoppage or flow of energy whereas a curve, circle, or sphere means continuous flow, and therefore life, energy, and eternity.

back to table
back to home